Beauty Haul – January 2017

I’m going to be doing another beauty haul which is really exciting. These are all things that I bought before Christmas but I’ll be doing another beauty haul at the start of February showing you what I bought with some of my Christmas money. I’ll give you a review on the things I’ve already tried (which I think is everything), let you know why I bought them etc. I really hope you enjoy this post and let me know what beauty items I should buy next.

MAC Cleansing Oil, £21 – I just thought I’d give this a try because I want to start investing more in my skincare this year. Obviously it’s an oil but it’s a lot messier than I thought it would be – there was oil everywhere which was probably user error, I always make such a mess. Anyway, it wasn’t what I expected really. It isn’t the best makeup remover I’ve ever tried. I haven’t used it very many times so I can’t give my full opinion yet (when I’m finished it I will) but I think my Garnier Micellar Water is better and it’s only a quarter of the price. I think I do regret buying this but let me know if you have this and let me know what you think of it.

MAC Satin Lipstick in ‘Viva Glam II,’ £15.50 – I decided I wanted another MAC lipstick annoyingly straight after I uploaded my MAC lipstick collection (well done!) so I went into MAC and had a look at the lipsticks. I planned on getting ‘Yash’ but after seeing it in person I came to the conclusion that I really didn’t like it. I was then really undecided on whether to get this or ‘Velvet Teddy.’ In the end I decided to get this based on the fact that it’s a Viva Glam lipstick and the full proceeds go to the MAC AIDS Fund. It is such a pretty colour which is a light/medium nude/mauve colour which has a touch of pink in it. It’s really pretty and suits my neutral pale beige skin tone really well. It’s also a satin finish (one of my favorites from MAC) so it’s very opaque, long lasting but not drying in the slightest.

Aloe Pura Aloe Vera Gel with Tea Tree, £5.69 – I bought this after I heard Kathleen Lights talking about how much aloe vera helped her skin in this video. I also did quite a bit of research before buying it to see exactly how it worked and what benefits it had etc. so if you are considering buying it I’d recommend that you do a little bit of research too. I’m going to do a whole post on it in about a months time (so if you’d like to see that make sure your following me) so I won’t go into to much detail at the moment. I will say that I think it has made a difference to my skin but do note that my skin isn’t too bad, I only have a couple of small breakouts per week.

Maybelline Baby Lips in ‘Mint Candy,’ £2.99 – It was actually my sister who bought me this but I thought I’d include it anyway as it is something new that I got. I never really got the hype about the Baby Lips lip balms until I tried this particular one. They all have a really nice creamy, moisturising and hydrating formula but I just love this one a lot. It looks like a very pale pink colour and when I have makeup on and my face has more colour to it is very true to colour and gives a really pretty wash of colour. However when I have no makeup on and I look paler it is colourless which I don’t have an issue with as when I have no makeup on I don’t want to have any colour on my lips. I really like this and I’d recommend it.

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in ‘Peach Glow,’ £3.99 – If you know anything about me, you’ll know that I love this powder and I literally could not live without it. Okay, maybe I could live but I certainly couldn’t do my makeup! I won’t go on about it too much as I feel like I talk about it all the time but if you’ve not already tried this I would highly recommend that you do. It just sets my makeup and keeps my oily skin completely shine free for about 5 hours. I just love this and will forever repurchase it, it’s just the best.

Boots Tea Tree & Which Hazel 6 Nose Pore Strips, £4.99 – I got these to remove the dirt and oil etc. from the pores on my nose (obviously). These do not work. I followed all of the directions on the back of the box and the just do not work. I have tried them multiple times and not once have they removed anything from more than ten pores. I wouldn’t recommend these but let me know if they work for you and let me know if you know of any nose pore strips which actually work.

Love Sarah x

8 thoughts on “Beauty Haul – January 2017

Leave a Reply

