5 Under £10

I recently realised that my post 5 Under £5 was quite popular and you all seemed to really enjoy it. I thought it would be a good idea to do something else similar so I thought I’d share with you 5 of my favorite beauty products under £10. I actually have ten products to share so I’ll be doing a part 2 soon so make sure you’re following so you don’t miss that. Also if you want to see my post, 5 under £5, click here. Let me know what your favorite products under £10 are as I always love trying out new drugstore makeup. I hope you enjoy this!

Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation, £8.99 – I firstly want to say that this is my favorite foundation I have ever tried. It is an anti-fatigue foundation with skin brightening effects and it contains vitamin e. I totally agree with that, it just makes your skin look so bright, healthy and reawakened. It also contains an SPF of 15 which isn’t enough for everyday wear – I use a moisturiser with a higher SPF underneath. I’d say that it has a medium coverage and it gives a natural illuminated finish. I have combination skin (oily/normal and dehydrated) and this works perfectly for me. It would also be amazing for normal skin and dry skin. It wouldn’t be great for very dry skin however as it isn’t very hydrating and it wouldn’t be great for very oily skin either as it is an illuminating foundation. I believe there are seven shades and I use ‘Light Porcelain’ which is the lightest shade which isn’t great as my skin is light beige (pale, but not that pale) but ideally there should be two or three foundations lighter than mine as there are so may people with lighter skin than me. And there should also be a few darker foundations as the darkest one isn’t that dark. That is the only downside to this foundation though and everything else about it is amazing and I’d definitely recommend it to almost anyone.

20160925_152152.jpg

L’Oréal Brow Artist Genius Kit, £9.99 – This is my everyday go to brow product and it has been for the past eight months or so. It is a brow kit including a wax, a powder, a tiny pair of (awful) tweezers and a tiny double ended brush with an angled brow brush on one end and a spoolie on the other. The packaging is small, sleek and travel friendly and also contains a small mirror which is amazing when you’re doing your brows on the go. A huge reason why I love this so much is the fact that the two shades, ‘light/medium’ and ‘medium/dark,’ are both cool toned and ashy which is very rare to find in the drugstore. So this does mean if you have warmer tones in your hair and brows this won’t be for you but for people like me with cooler tones it is amazing. I use the shade ‘light/medium’ which is perfect for me – I have medium/dark ashy blonde hair. You can use this brow product in any way you’d like and you could easily do a natural brow but you could also easily do a bolder brow too. I personally use the wax first to define the arch and then I fill in my brows with the powder. If you are looking for a brow product with neutral/cool tones I would highly recommend trying this out.

Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara Intense Black, £7.99 – Like the previous two products this is a genuine favorite of mine. I do love high end makeup but I guess I just really love drugstore makeup a lot too. This is one of the best mascaras I have ever tried and I think the main reason for this is the mascara wand. It is so unique and I have never found any other mascara wand like this. It just volumises and lengthens my lashes so perfectly. People often complement my lashes and ask my what mascara I use when I have this on and people have actually thought I was wearing (very natural) falsies too. There are different variations of this mascara and my personal favorite is the intense black one – I just love a really black mascara. I would highly recommend this mascara to anyone. Everyone just needs to try it out!

20161104_160746.jpg

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream, £5.50 – These are some of the best matte liquid lipsticks that you can find in the drugstore and I think they are as good as, if not better than a lot of high end options. These have quite a thick looking consistency but feel so light on the lips. All of the shades I’ve tried (please note I’ve only tried lighter shades) have applied so evenly and are not patchy at all; they only need one coat as they are pigmented. They take a minute to dry completely matte and when they do they are not drying in the slightest, they’re actually really comfortable to wear. They wear on the lips so well – they don’t flake off, they don’t rub off, they don’t go patchy. I could wear these for about eight hours and not have to worry about them wearing off at all. My personal favorite shades are ‘Tokyo’ which is a bubble gum pink and ‘Abu Dhabi’ which is a classic warm nude similar to ‘Velvet Teddy’ by MAC but less pink.

20160730_163632.jpg

Maybelline Baby Lips, £2.99 – I’ve tried a few different lip balms from proper makeup brands and these are the only ones that I actually really like. They have such a nice consistency and feel really moisturising and hydrating on the lips. They have so many different colours available (and colourless ones too), many of which I have tried, and I much prefer the lighter colours to the darker ones. The reason for this is that the darker ones are very pigmented, overly pigmented for me, but if you like that you’ll love these – I just prefer a matte dark lip. My favorite one is the shade ‘Mint Candy’ which is a pale pink which looks completely colourless on me when I have no makeup on but when I do have makeup on (and a lot of bronzer!) it looks very true to colour on me. I’d highly recommend picking up a couple of these to try as they are under the £5 mark or just pick one up the next time you need a new lip balm.

Love Sarah x

8 thoughts on “5 Under £10

  1. Pingback: 5 Under £10 #2 | Sarah Wilde

Leave a Reply

