My Foundation Routine

My foundation routine has been much the same for quite a few months now and I find that it works really well for me. I thought it might be helpful for some of you and do let me know what products you use in your foundation routine.

Before I start telling you about all of the products I use, I’m going to tell you about my skin. I have combination skin, so I have an oily t-zone and dehydrated skin. I also make sure my skin is moisturised before I begin and finding a good moisturiser for your skin type with a high SPF is essential. Now I’m going to take you through what I do step by step.

1. I start by priming my face to ensure that everything that goes on after goes on smoothly and lasts all day. I don’t really mind what primer I use but at the moment I’m using the MUA Pro-Base Primer which I believe is only about £4 – it’s really good for the price. It really evens out my skin and sorts out any textural issues I have. It also has a really nice light formula which I like alot. I also just apply this evenly over my face using clean hands.

2. I then move onto foundation and for everyday wear I generally just like a natural finish with a light to medium coverage. My choice of foundation is Rimmel Wake Me Up Foundation in ‘Light Porcelain’ which retails for £8.99. My shade is the lightest shade in the range and it matches my skin perfectly. It has anti-fatigue and skin brightening effects and is enriched with vitamin c and has the SPF of 15. It gives a radient glow and has a natural finish. I have combination skin and it works really well for me so will work well for most skin types except dry skin as it does show up dry patches if I ever have any. I apply a pump of this with my Real Techniques Multi Task Brush which gives an even and blended finish. This foundation also wears well and lasts all day.

3. I use two different concealers for different things. I start by using Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer in ‘Ivory’ which has a light consistency and a medium coverage. I use this under my eyes, around my nose, in between my brows and on my chin. It works really well under the eyes as it has a radient and awakening effect, although if you have bad undereyes you may need something more full coverage. I then use Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in ‘Fair’ on any blemishes or redness. It is high coverage and for a drugstore concealer is really amazing. It can cover almost anything and will work for almost all skin types apart from very dry skin because of it’s thicker consistency.

4. Lastly, to set all of that into place I use a setting powder. The powder I’ve been using for years is Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in ‘Transparent’ or ‘Peach Glow.’ It is the best powder I’ve ever used and sets my makeup into place really well. It lasts all day although I do have to re-apply a small amount throughout the day sometimes. To apply it I use my Real Techniques Powder Brush which applys it really well. It doesn’t offer any extra coverage which I personally like. I’d highly recommend this powder. 

Love Sarah x

2 thoughts on “My Foundation Routine

  1. Pingback: My Everyday Makeup – December 2016 | Sarah Wilde

  2. Pingback: Christmas Day GRWM | Sarah Wilde

Leave a Reply

