Rekindled Love for the Countryside

image

I was born in the city, and I lived there for a large amount of my childhood, and currently live very near the city. But I spent a small amount of time living deep in the countryside away from everything, which at the time I didn’t really like. I didn’t like our horses or shetland ponys, the mud, or anything to do with nature. But it was a time in my life that I really enjoyed.

image

The countryside really is my happy place. Anytime I feel stressed or need a break, I like to walk out of town and into the country for a couple of miles. I love the peacefulness, and the emptyness. The country air feels so different, and the views here in Scotland, are just spectacular. The particular part that I walk through (not the part I lived in) has a distant view of the middle of the city where I grew up, then The Pentlands in the South of the city, and then endless country. I truly love it.

As I walk down the country road, and further into the country I just feel so much better. I’ve rekindled my love for the country, but still not so much the dirt and animals that go with it. But I don’t love the city any less.

image

I live in a deadbeat yet crazy village and live my life in the nearby beautiful city, and sometimes, life gets hard and all too much, and I forget that I’m so near such an amazing place that changes me, it is my one true happy place. I can go into the country feeling so upset and stressed, and come out feeling the opposite, with no thoughts.
The city is my life, but the country is my home.

Leave a Reply

